Cinco de Mayo Tablescape

Margarita glasses, corn on the cob napkins, tequila place cards? Sounds like a fun Cinco de Mayo table setting to me! 🙂 In all honesty I think I’m just trying to make up for years of missed Cinco de Mayo celebrations. So many margarita filled days flew by without me – not cool. This year I am prepared! With my Mexican Street Corn and this fun table setting it’s bound to be a festive day that includes one heck of a siesta.

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

This whole table really came together thanks to a Tuesday Morning run where I found this fun Fiesta tablecloth and that adorable corn butter dish – how could I resist!? Only snag…they only had a long rectangle and my table is round. This happens from time to time. I absolutely love round tables but I often don’t like to be limited to my table size when I find a tablecloth I just HAVE TO HAVE. My trick? Fold under the edges to make it work for me. Unless it’s a super formal affair like a wedding, no one is going to notice!

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

And those chairs? They’re from my dining room. Don’t be afraid to go shopping around the house, moving things in and out to get just the right feeling you want for the occasion. I just how that blue and mustard pop against these bright colors. My beige outdoor chairs just wouldn’t have done this table justice.

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

Now it came to place cards…what to use…what to use? Ah yes, lime slices and tequila shots. Ole! Look…even if you don’t like tequila you have to admit this is perfect for Cinco de Mayo (and arguably many occasions). Just get your paint pen and have at it. And yes, I even had a little “tequila” decanter on the table as part of the centerpiece. Obviously Uber for all.

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

I wanted to try something different than having silverware sitting out somewhere – especially because I was getting limited on space and couldn’t make myself edit any of the colorful details. So, I started to roll the silverware and then in looking at my Pier1 napkin stash and smelling that sweet Mexican Street Corn roasting in the oven…CORN! It practically slapped me in the face. It’s as if I totally planned this (I swear I didn’t). Stay tuned for an upcoming blog post on how to make these adorbs corn on the cob napkins. 

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

As always, I love featuring foods as part of my centerpieces. They add texture, visual appeal and often connect the dots for the whole setting.

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

I also sprung for a small collection of different margarita glasses which I gotta tell you – I kind of adore. Why do you need eight matching ones when you can have a fun collection of different styles like this?

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

Interested in a floral centerpiece vs fruit? Check out my blog post on Tea Cup & Martini Glass Centerpieces.

{Fun, Yum & Frills} Fun Cinco de Mayo inspired siesta tablescape complete with tequila and lime place cards and corn on the cob napkins!

Anyone else ready for a margarita now? I’ll tell you one thing, I’m definitely ready for Cinco de Mayo and some summer barbecues! Bring it on summer…right after my siesta that is.

– Tablecloth, Placemats, Plates, Margarita Glasses, Corn Butter Dish: Tuesday Morning / Napkins & Napkin Rings: Pier1 / Tequila Glasses & Decanter: Z Gallerie / Chairs: World Market

2 thoughts on “Cinco de Mayo Tablescape

Leave a comment